1987 MEN'S SOCCER TEAM

The 1987 men's soccer team becomes the 11th team inducted into the UNCG Hall of Fame. UNCG became the first team in NCAA Division III history to win three straight men's soccer National Championships as the 1987 team finished the year with a 17-7-1 record and a 6-1-0 mark in DIAC play. The Spartans won their final seven games of the season and finished the NCAA Tournament out-scoring opponents by a 16-6 margin. UNCG had its toughest game of the run in the opening round, posting a 4-3 victory over DIAC champion and host North Carolina Wesleyan. The Spartans claimed the title in style on their home field for the second straight year, defeating Washington (Mo.) by a 6-1 margin.

Parker's team still dominated the DIAC All-Conference awards despite finishing second in 1987 as four members were named to the first team and two to the second team. Tommy Hannum, Michael Colannino, Bill Sutherland and Willie Lopez were first team recipients while Jason Haupt and Carl Fleming picked up second team accolades.



lddddddddddddddddc

Members of the 1987 team include Buckley Andrews, Michael Colannino, Mark Cregle, Anthony DiFoggio, Troy Fauerbach, Carl Fleming, Chad Gorby, Sean Hadas, Troy Hamilton, Tony Hannum, Steve Harrison, Jason Haupt, Jonathan Haze, George Hoyle, Rick Johnson, Willie Lopez, Whit Neal, Patrick Patterson, Bill Sutherland, David Ulmsten, Mike Watson, assistant coach Peter Broadley, assistant coach Charles Dailey assistant coach Jack Poland and head coach Michael Parker.

The 1987 men's soccer team is being presented by former UNCG sports information director Ty Buckner.

